top of page

Haunted Trails Spotlight - Zachary Rosenberg



Zach, I’m thrilled to have you as one of our featured creators for #31DaysofHaunting on Haunted Trails! As a fan of your writing, I’m excited to chat with you and share your work!

Hi, Sam, thank you so much for having me! I'm a huge fan of your writing as well and it's an honor to be here! Thank you so much!

Please tell our readers a little about yourself.

Well, horror, science fiction and fantasy are my first loves as a writer and where I put my main focus in. My main focus is telling good stories, but I mainly draw from my Jewish heritage for ideas and inspiration. Regarding influences, some of my biggest ones are Alexandre Dumas, Robert E. Howard, Ursula LeGuin, Rod Serling, Emily Bronte....to more modern writers like Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Hailey Piper, John Langan, Laird Barron, John Baltisberger and way more. We'd love to hear about any recent projects you released or completed. Gladly! So, my biggest ones now are my debut novella, Hungers as Old as This Land. It's a horror western about a Jewish settlement out in Montana put under threat by forces who want the land cleared and hire a ruthless group of outlaws to wipe the town out. Our heroines are Esther and Siobhan, a pair of Jewish women left to try to save what remains of their home. This started as a short story, the publisher asked me to expand and it's worked out quite well!

Readers, you can read my review of Hungers As Old As This Land here https://samanthaslk2.wixsite.com/website/post/hungers-as-old-as-this-land-book-review

The Long Shalon was my second book. A blend of cosmic horror, noir and pulp from Off Limits Press about a Jewish private detective roped into investigating missing people in New York. Teaming up with old allies, they quickly learn that the horror comes from within the upper echelons of politics, and horrors from outside space and time...


Amazon UK : https://amzn.eu/d/fR9yodh

What's next for you? Are you working on anything new right now? I'm working on and trying to place a bunch of short stories right now. More short stories ahead, too. Finished a big fantasy book that I'm planning to query, but for immediate releases I have two books signed for: The Unquiet Grave with Brigids Gate, which is a Jewish Gothic blend of Carmilla and Crimson Peak meets the Vigil.

And my Jewish pirate novel, the Devils and the Deep Blue Sea with Darklit Press. Think Evil Dead meets Black Sails meets the Vigil there. That should release in the first quarter of next year! Sounds brilliant! You're reeling us in already!


Horror is widely varied with a variety of sub genres that includes supernatural, folk, psychological, slasher, weird and many more. Which sub-genre are you most drawn to and why? So, there's no one single one I love most. But folk horror is one of them. I love folklore and legend, and seeing the horror come alive from it, the prospect of things from "Before" always being there and waiting with nothing to protect you is something I absolutely love. Candyman is one of the finest examples of modern folk horror done right. Is there anything you'd like to see more or less of in the Horror genre, and is it something you try to reflect in your own work?

Diversity is big for me.I'm trying to do my part with Jewish works. I think diversity only makes any kind of speculative fiction stronger. I'm so glad for the chance to discuss your work and share it! Since we're Halloween obsessed here on #31DaysOfHaunting, there's a few more things we need to know! Favourite films and books for the spooky season? Books? Bradbury's the October Country, Emily Carroll's Through the Woods, Haunting of Hill House Movies: Trick 'R Treat, Nightmare on Elm Street, Halloween, Fright Night. Who would be your perfect squad to go trick or treating with?

Vincent Price tops the list, let's be real here. Forget costumes, you can swap bodies with your favourite horror character for Halloween. Who is it?

Okay, this is hard because horrible things happen to my favorite characters.

Let's maybe say Jerry Dandridge and enjoy Fright Night for real. What's the one Halloween candy that you'd rather fight the scariest of monsters than hand it over?

Anything chocolate. But I have an extreme fondness for candy corn. Give us one song that should be on everyone's Halloween playlist.

I Love The Night, Blue Oyster Cult Finally, what's your ideal way to spend All Hallows' Eve?

Honestly? Seasonally appropriate snacks, candy, cider and horror films with friends. Zachary, thank you so much for being a part of our Halloween celebration on Haunted Trails! It’s been a pleasure getting to know more about you and your work. We look forward to checking out your stories! Happy Haunting!

Thank you SO MUCH for having me!


You can find Zachary on Twitter @ZachRoseWriter where you can stay up to date with the latest news and find links to current and forthcoming work.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page