top of page

Haunted Trails Spotlight - Nicole Monsees

I'm delighted to have Nicole Monsees as a featured creator on Haunted Trails' #31DaysOfHaunting.



Nicole, please tell us about yourself.


Hello! I’m happy to be featured on 31DaysofHaunting! My name is Nicole Monsees

and I’m a writer, blogger, and photographer. I think there’s a part of me that’s always daydreaming and writing, even if it’s subconsciously. The stories I put down on paper are the ones I create in my head. I write stories that bring emotion, ones that make me think, and take me on adventures. I like writing about the fictional places and characters I create, while still presenting them as if they could

be real. I enjoy fantastical things, in various genres, that stretch the imagination. Most of my

stories are usually, at least, partially written in my head before putting them down on paper.

Other times I have a seed of an idea I can’t stop thinking about, so, I start to write and grow

the story as I’m writing. In the end, I hope my readers enjoy the stories I’ve created as much

as I do and feel as though they’ve been on an adventure too.


My blog is a different type of writing. There I write pieces on music, photography,

literature, and life. I write about travel and history too. Within the last couple of years, I’ve

also added a section for my poetry and short stories. It’s a place where I can freely write and

welcome readers and other writers to follow along, even leave a comment or two on different

posts as a way of communicating.


Photography has always been a passion of mine. I enjoy photographing landscapes,

seascapes, animals, concerts, and all the little in between details. I’ve recently been

incorporating it into my writing. Sometimes I’ll write a poem to go along with one of my

photos and share the two together.



Photo by Nicole Monsees

I have a wide range of interests – reading, history, travel, cars, movies, and the list

goes on. I’m a naturally curious person, which I’d say is a good thing. All the things I’m

interested in and find joy in, I often find reflected in my stories or my characters.

When I’m not working on my writing or photos, or curled up with a good book, you

can probably find me at the beach or the lake. If I don’t have accesses to either of those, I just

like being out in nature. Nature gives way to a beautiful, quiet, and peaceful atmosphere. This

is my resting space, a time to recharge before going back to create.



coastline, gentle rolling waves beneath an evening sky. Sun sets against orange and yellow skyline.
Photo by Nicole Monsees

We would love to hear about any recent projects you released or completed.


I’ve recently finished several new short stories for the Fall and Halloween season. I

always try to have at least one new story for Halloween, but this year the ideas were endless.

Some of the stories I simply wrote and decided to hold their release until the Fall.

A majority of my writing begins with a “what if…?” scenario which sparks an idea

that I then work into a story or it ignites a fully formed story I just need to put down on paper

and maybe tweak a couple of details. There are times the “what if…?” stands alone and other

times when it’s drawn from a mix of things. Sometimes, I find myself getting an idea from

simple things I read or hear about in real life. For instance, there’s a set of train tracks in Cape

May, NJ, used during WWI, that can only be seen if you’re on the correct side of a certain

beach and the conditions have to be perfect for them to be revealed. This is why they’re

referred to as ‘ghost tracks.’ I thought this was an interesting idea and my brain started

spinning with all the possibilities. So, that was the inspiration behind my short story “Ghost

Tracks.”


Or, in the instance “The Old Sea Captain,” I pulled inspiration from two different

lighthouse visits, one of which is said to be haunted while at the other I saw something

resembling a human skull out on the rocks. Other times I pull stories from myths, legends, or

folktales. I usually focus on Lithuania because it’s a country very close to my heart. With

such a long and complex history, this beautiful country is full of stories said to be myths,

legends, or folktales. One legend I recently read about dates back to 1595. It ended up

sparking an idea for a story. That’s only one example though. When I write these types of

stories, I always make it my own while still honouring the original story and its country of

origin.


So, my stories can come from anywhere. After all, inspiration is everywhere.


I always enjoy reading your stories and poems and I'm sure our readers will too! I love that you incorporate your photography along with your interest in history into your storytelling.


Are you working on anything new right now?


The ideas are continuously coming to me. Inspiration is everywhere. So, I’m always

working on new stories. I actually keep an idea journal full of story ideas or things I think

will make a good story in the future. Unfortunately, I never talk in too much detail about

current projects or unreleased stories. I keep them close until I’m ready to let them free into

the world, otherwise I feel they lose their magic. Especially the ones that are unfinished and

still trying to take form. However, I will say that I have several new things in the works. I’m

very excited about these projects and hope to be sharing them soon.


Horror is widely varied with a variety of sub genres that includes supernatural, folk,

psychological, slasher and many more. Which sub-genre are you most drawn to and why?


I love supernatural as well as folk, fantasy, and speculative fiction. For me, those are

the most fun and enjoyable not only to read, but also to write.

These are the types of stories that, for me, stick with you for a long time. They tell of

supernatural beings that might continue to haunt your mind long after the story is over. There

are folktales that are rooted in history and beliefs, which come from even a grain of truth.

Sometimes it’s the truth that’s scarier than the actual story or monster. Fantasy is magical

with dragons and unicorns, but add a dash of horror and the fantasy can become scary, or

even disturbing. Then there’s speculative fiction, which is set in the real world, our world,

with fictitious beings or situations, but, once again, there are times when these things are so

close to being real that you wonder if there’s a possibility it could ever be true and that, to

me, can sometimes be more unsettling than all the made-up stories.



Is there anything you would like to see more or less of in the Horror genre, and is it something you

try to reflect in your own work?


Hauntings and good old fashion ghost stories. There are hundreds of different reasons

for hauntings and hundreds of different ways the spirit of the former living could’ve died. I

love writing these types of stories. They’re a joy to write as much as they are to read.

When thinking about different types of hauntings and ghost stories, I think it would be

interesting to see more of those types of stories based off myths and legends, even folktales,

in different countries around the world. Not only does it open doors to the history of the

country and, potentially, get readers interested in the true history where the myths or legends

came from, but it also introduces readers to different ideas from around the globe. This is

something I’ve done with several of my stories.


I enjoyed getting to know you and your work a bit more and I'm glad our readers could too! Since we're Halloween obsessed here on Haunted Trails, there are a few things we need to know!




Jack o lantern Pumpkin on the ground with twigs and fallen leaves against a tree trunk. Lake behind.
Photo by Nicole Monsees

Favourite films and books for the spooky season?


There are so many good books for this time of year, but the first book I always think

about is Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. I love the story and it’s one

that has stuck with me. It’s so well written and there are so many things within the book, little

things, that give the reader an unsettled feeling, but in a good way. Bradbury’s The October

Country is another good book. It’s a collection of short stories with some brilliant, yet mildly

disturbing, ones. Of course, I can’t forget Bradbury’s The Halloween Tree. I mean, not only is

it a good one for this time of year, but the holiday is right in the title of the book.

Anything by Neil Gaiman is good to read this time of year too. Especially The

Graveyard Book. It has one of those unexpected openings that really grabs the reader’s

attention. Then, to have a story where a human child is raised in a graveyard by ghosts, well,

I think that’s brilliant.


When it comes to films, just like books, there are a lot of good ones for this time of

year. Anything Hitchcock is a must watch. I love Rear Window and North by Northwest, but

you can’t go wrong with any of his films. The 1931 Dracula, with Bela Lugosi, is a classic.


Cat People, from 1942, is certainly a different type of film, but it’s a fun one to watch around

this time. Of course, there’s Hocus Pocus. I grew up watching that movie with my mom every

year, so it has a special place in my heart.


Who would be your perfect squad to go trick or treating with?


I think it would be fun to go out with Alfred Hitchcock, Vincent Price, Neil Gaiman,

the Bronte Sisters, and Crowley (the demon from Good Omens.) I could add so many more to

this list, but we were looking for a group, not a whole hoard of trick or treaters.


Forget costumes, you can swap bodies with your favourite horror character for Halloween.

Who is it?


This question reminds me of Robert Sheckley’s Mindswap and, if this experience is

anything like the book, it’ll definitely be interesting. To be honest though, I’m not sure who

I’d swap bodies with, but, off the top of my head, maybe Dracula. I think that would be

interesting.


What's the one Halloween candy that you would rather fight the scariest of monsters than hand it over?


I’ve never been a huge candy eater, but Halloween is one of those times where I

indulge a little. I love Nestle Crunch Bars and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. So, if it’s not one

of those two, then, the monsters can have the candy for themselves and I hope they enjoy

eating it.


Give us one song that should be on everyone's Halloween playlist.


This is a great question and a tough one for me simply because I love music and can

think of several songs. If I had to choose only one, I’d say Spooky Scary Skeletons by

Andrew Gold. I actually remember watching the original cartoon this song was used in every

Halloween.


Finally, what's your ideal way to spend All Hallows' Eve?


I’ve never missed a year where I haven’t watched at least one episode of Tales from

the Crypt or Hocus Pocus. So, chances are you can find me curled up in front of the television

watching these Halloween specials while enjoying either a Nestle Crunch Bars or a Reese’s

Peanut Butter Cup.


Thank you so much for being a part of our 31DaysofHaunting Halloween event on Haunted Trails!

We enjoyed chatting with you and look forward to checking out your work!

Happy Haunting!


You can find Nicole via the following links to check out her written work and photography.



*The photos within this text are the property of Nicole Monsees. Please do not use without her permission. Thank you.


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page